Friday, 25 July 2014

My mission for the 2014-2015 financial year

One of my wishes is to be able to own my own house.
Before I can do that I need to fix up my credit rating. My ex got out a whole heap of things when we broke up in my name and ran up HUGE bills on them, to this day I am still finding out about some, I got a nice phone call from a phone company I have never been with a few days ago for an unpaid bill of $2000 in 2006. Unfortunately there is not much I can do about it as he had all my details, drivers licence number, my equivalent of a social security number, everything. So to them "I" signed up.

Anyway with all of these debts I cannot apply for anything and I hate it, if it were my own fault I could accept it but since it wasn't it makes me really angry.
I have to find out how much I owe everyone and make payment plans to pay them all off.
Hopefully this can be done this financial year but of course that depends on that amount owed.
It will mean being on a very strict budget with no room for luxuries but the end result will be worth it.

So each fortnight I will pay my rent, pay my bills, buy groceries, fuel, childcare and pay off my debts that is all, no spending on things that aren't needed.
I will cut back in every area possible. I will not upgrade my phone or sign up for anything new until these debts are paid.

Now I don't know much about the system, after I pay these defaults I don't know what happens, does my credit rating go to zero or is it still bad but shows I have paid? Can I get loans once they are paid?

I'm not sure. My rent has always been paid, my gas bill is $700 in credit and my electricity bill is up to date, I have a phone on a plan - surely these things go in my favour?

Once this is all up to date hopefully by then end of this financial year (June 30th 2015) I will start saving like crazy for a deposit.

Assuming nothing changes moneywise here
Rent - $520 per fortnight (every 2 weeks)
Groceries - $320 per fortnight
Electricity - $110 per fortnight
Gas - $60 per fortnight
Mobile - $60 per fortnight
Ipad - $50 per fortnight
Home phone (incl internet) - $70 per fortnight
Childcare - $200 per fortnight
Fuel - $100 per fortnight
School fees - $200 per fortnight
Water - $10 per fortnight
Emergency/extras - $100 per fortnight
Medications - $140 per fortnight

So thats a grand total of: $1940 per fortnight. Groceries is on the larger side of what we spend but I'd like to know I have enough put aside.
We get approx $2248.54 per fortnight so $308.54 remains.

This isn't a great deal as we are supporting 4 children too.
But hopefully if this all goes to plan by June 30th 2015 I will have paid off $7404.96 I may not even have to pay that much until I get a hold of my credit rating I really have no idea.

That is also how much I'll be saving once debts are paid off, it is a little amount compared to most I know, we will be living tough.

We are country people so we want land to have our sheep, cows, chickens etc we also need at least 4 bedrooms but at least with our own house we can save (again!) and extend. So looking at the website we need approx $700,000 for a property we want (this includes estimated legal costs) so I'd want a 10-15% deposit given my credit history isn't great.
15% of $700,000 is $105,000 how is it even possible to save this amount before I am 70?

Given how much I can currently save (worked on the above assuming the car doesn't need repairing or anything else) it will take me 14.5 years to save this. I want to own my home by the time I am 34, I am now 27, I have 6.5 years to save that amount - how on earth will I do that?
The only option is to severely downgrade what we want in a house which with 5 children really isn't an option they need space to sleep.

Anyone got any good saving tips?


Tuesday, 8 July 2014

Meal plan 12-26 July

With my mental health taking a fast plummet to the ground with no sign of survivors I am stepping my lifestyle up a gear in hopes that if survivors are found they at least have a chance of recovery.

First things first - what we eat.
We don't eat bad, a lot of our meals are healthy and for the most part clean but we do get take away through the week, or I skip meals that I shouldn't. No more.
Clean, healthy and sugar free (baby steps with that one!)

So lets see the meal plan!

Breakfast - Fruit & Spinach Smoothies
Lunch - Poached Eggs on Toast
Dinner - Roasted Vegetable Tacos with Cumin Cashew Crema

Breakfast - Blueberry & Banana Quinoa Muffins
Lunch - Fruit Pizza
Dinner - Ginger & Peanut Chickpea Sliders with Sweet Lime Cashew Cream

Breakfast - Berry Parfait
Lunch - Slowcooker Black Beans & Chicken
Dinner - Mango Cashew Chicken

Breakfast - Pink Breakfast Smoothie
Lunch - Egg Salad Sandwiches
Dinner - Pumpkin Risotto

Breakfast - Blueberry& Banana Quinoa Muffins
Lunch - Slowcooker Black Beans & Chicken
Dinner - Fish & Sweet Potato Cakes with steamed veggies

Breakfast - Pink Breakfast Smoothie
Lunch - Poached Eggs on Toast
Dinner - Pork, Apple & Sage Meatballs with sweet potato mash

Breakfast - Fruit & Spinach Smoothies
Lunch - Slowcooker Black Beans & Chicken
Dinner - Turkey Chilli with Wholegrain Cornbread

Fruit Kebabs
Fruit & Yoghurt
Boiled Eggs
Frozen Banana Bites
Peanut Butter Dip with Fruit

Secondly - fitness
Endorphins do amazing things for us as does self esteem, being healthy and feeling great surely has to help in some way.

Morning Yoga
Bootcamp 3 x per week at Ballarat Health Studio - 45 minutes of intense workouts at 6am!
30 day challenges
On Thursday & Fridays I will also be walking/jogging around Wendouree Lake which is 6km and probably work in a weekend walk with the whole family too
Yoga to promote better sleep 

I also need to think of some ideas for when the boys are in daycare and the girls are in school of things to do for ME

Saturday, 5 July 2014

Control and routine

According to my therapist I make lists for everything so I can control things which is apparently very common for abuse survivors to have that thing they can control when everything else is so out of control or out of your own control at least.
So why not use this blessing or curse (it can be both) to add some structure to my life and make things easier.

Obviously I have to be a little flexible with these because we never know what is going to happen in life, illness or I could be called into a birth etc.

My mornings now shall consist of:

Yoga before the kids get up
Bootcamp 3 times a week (at 6am eekkk!)
1-2 loads of washing
Make all beds

Afternoons will now consist of:
Meal prep to make dinner not a huge rush
Sweep all floors and vacuum carpeted areas
Wipe all surfaces

Evenings will now consist of:

Doing dishes every single night
Folding washing every single night
More yoga

This may not seem like a lot to the average person but for me it is a lot, I need this structure and this stability. Doing these simple things will help stay on top of my housework to avoid me becoming overwhelmed which has happened a lot recently.
It is not easy with 4 young children to do these things so I am keeping it simple but hopefully it will be effective and soon these will be routine and a part of my everyday normal so more can be added.

Now to work on some lists of activities to do with the kids so we can work some fun into our days too!